TC Kingpin replacement

Discussion of TABC-related matters
JohnW

TC Kingpin replacement

Post by JohnW » Fri Feb 21, 2020 3:31 pm

In the near future I plan on replacing the king pins on my TC. I have done king pins on an MG B many years ago so not a complete novice on these matters, I just wondered if there is anything I really need to know before I start and where is the best place to buy the parts from (uk please)?
Thank you in advance for any advice offered. :thumbs:

Steve Simmons
Site Admin

Re: TC Kingpin replacement

Post by Steve Simmons » Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:04 pm

Kingpin replacement in a TC is easier than MGB. For one, the bushes are a straight 3/4" taper so no special reamer is required. I have purchased king pins and bushes from Roger Furneaux and the quality is quite nice. He also sells bushes and cotter pins. Many sources for the pins have the wrong heads on them but as I recall his are the correct type.

From memory, this is the sequence to replace a king pin...
  • Remove the hub and bearings from the spindle.
  • Remove the brake assembly and steering arm (steering arm shares lower backing plate bolts). You should be able to remove the brake without disturbing the hose and carefully set it aside.
  • Remove the top dust cap.
  • Remove the nut from the cotter pin and drive the pin out. This sometimes destroys the pin, so it's good to have a extra set on hand.
  • Drive the king pin out, keeping a hand on the spindle so it doesn't fall and damage the threads.
  • With a press (or socket and vise), press the old bushes out of the spindle.
  • Press the new bushes in and ream to fit. I never assume a 3/4" reamer will be perfect, but prefer to use an adjustable reamer so I can creep up on it. A piloted reamer is a good idea, to ensure everything is straight. It's easy to ream too far, as a tiny cut can make a big difference. Having an extra bushing or two on hand isn't a bad idea.