9 Terminal Lucas Regulator Replacement Project

Discussion of TABC-related matters

Would you consider a modern replacement of your 9 Terminal Regulator

Yes- I would like to upgrade
8%
No- I would rather keep my bakelite clatterbox, thank you.
33%
Only if it still makes the ticking noise.
8%
Only if it doesn't make the ticking noise
No votes
Only if it was significantly less expensive
8%
Only if it was made in a housing that looks original
42%

Total votes: 12

Kameron M

9 Terminal Lucas Regulator Replacement Project

Post by Kameron M » Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:01 pm

Hello, Kam here. I'm new. I'm also restoring TC5086. She is coming along slowly slowly, but well.
I'm a computer engineering student (well, almost done), and I do a lot of Electrical Engineering stuff in my spare time, and in my work. Electron pushing is my thing.

Lucas stuff horrifies me. I am de-lucasing the entire car. This is a combination of my desire to A- Not have anything Lucas. B- Not have anyting Lucas. C- because I can. D- Because I wanna.

Anyway, I have been awake for the past... dunno, 60 hours at a hackathon event, and my project (which lost -- possibly because no one understood it) was reverse engineering and subsequently re-designing the Lucas 9 terminal regulator.

Presently, the status of the project is as follows:
I was poured through the "documentation" about the regulator, and after doing a lot of experimentation- I was able to figure out how it works-- at least enough.

I designed a circuit, then simplified it, using a single inexpensive analog electric chip which monitors the output of the generator and can activate or de-activate relays depending on various conditions.

The above circuit was then modified such that it could be used on the positive ground system and monitor the negative voltages the car uses.

The circuit was then tweaked and made conveniently adjustable for battery voltage that it will regulate towards, drop in/drop out voltage of the cutout relay.